‘Parasite’ Actors Are Invited as New Academy Members

The cast of “Parasite” arrives at the Oscars on Sunday, Feb. 9, 2020, at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles. (AP Photo/John Locher)/2020-02-10 07:49:50/
Credit: NAVER Movie

The cast of Academy Award-winning film Parasite is invited as new Academy members.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) announced 819 new members in 2020 on June 30.

The list includes Park So Dam, Lee Jung Eun, Jang Hye Jin, Jo Yeo Jeong, and Choi Woo Shik of Parasite. Producer Kwak Shin Ae, film editor Yang Jin Mo, production designer Lee Ha Jun, music director Jung Jae Il, costume designer Choi Seyeon, sound director Choi Tae Young, writer Han Jin Won were also named in the list. Director Bong Joon Ho and Song Kang Ho had already become members in 2015.

Yi Seung Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam of the documentary In The Absence, and Lee Hyun Min, a Disney animation supervisor, who participated in Frozen, Moana, and Big Hero 6, were also included in the list. If they accept the invitation, they will be able to vote for the Academy Award as members. (Traditionally, not everyone accepts the membership, but the Academy says the vast majority do.)

So far, the number of AMPAS Korean members are known to be about 40, including directors Park Chan Wook, Bong Joon Ho, Lee Chang Dong, Im Kwon Taek, animator Kim Sang Jin, and actors Song Kang Ho, Lee Byung Hun, and Choi Min Sik.

Source (1, 2)

Leave your vote

Related Posts

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.