New Releases This Month: From Solo to Group, Musicians Are Making Their Comeback to the K-POP Scene

The K-POP scene, which has been sluggish due to COVID-19, is full of life once again. More than 10 teams have confirmed their comeback, signaling the start of their activities after a long time.

Musicians Who Have Dominated the Music Charts

Credit: EDAM Entertainment, SM Entertainment, Shofar Music, SK JAEWON

First, Sung Shi Kyung released his digital single And We Go on May 3. This is the first time that he released a new album in two years since eternally, which was released in May 2018. The new song features the singer’s sweet voice and melody.

Taeyeon will release her new single Happy on May 4. “Happy” is a song that expresses the warmth and happiness of the time together with a loved one. Originally, Taeyeon had planned to release the song on April 9, the same day as her birthday, but temporarily postponed the release as her father passed away on the same day.

IU will release Eight, which she collaborated with BTS’s Suga, on May 6. As it is the first collaboration between the two musicians of the same age, music fans around the world are paying keen attention to the new song.

Bolbbalgan4 will join hands with EXO’s Baekhyun and release the pre-released song “Leo” from her new mini-album Puberty Book II �” A Flower The Butterfly Has Seen on May 7. This album marks Bolbbalgan4’s first comeback since Woo Ji Yoon left, and Ahn Ji Young continues her solo career under the same name. Also, as EXO’s Baekhyun participated in the featuring, expectations are rising rapidly.


A Battle Between Male Idols

Credit: Starship Entertainment, Pledis, Big Hit Entertainment, SM Entertainment

In May, more male idols are making their comeback than female idols. First of all, ASTRO will release their seventh mini-album Gateway on May 4 and start their full-scale promotional activities with the title track “Knock.” Moonbin, who had been on a break due to health issues, has joined the team, and fans are looking forward to ASTRO’s comeback as a full group after a year and four months.

On May 11, three teams, MONSTA X, NU’EST, and DAY6, will return to the K-POP scene. MONSTA X will release their new mini-album FANTASIA X and make their first comeback in Korea in about seven months. This album is being released after the group ranked 5th on Billboard 200 with their first English full-length album All About Luv, which was released earlier this year.

NU’EST will meet their fans for the first time in a long time with their eighth mini-album The Nocturne. With the topic of “night,” the album will showcase a whole new side of the group, who will celebrate their 9th year since their debut.

DAY6 will release their sixth mini-album The Book of Us : The Demon. This is the third album of their The Book of Us series, which began last year. Attention is focusing on whether the group will be able to continue their upward trend as they performed well with “Time of Our Life,” which was released July last year.

TXT is scheduled to release their second mini-album The Dream Chapter: ETERNITY on May 18. Following their debut album The Dream Chapter: Star and their first full-length album The Dream Chapter: Magic, the upcoming album tells the experiences of boys as they grow up.

NCT 127 will also make their comeback on May 19 with the title track “Punch” from their repackaged album. This is their comeback in only two months since they released their second full-length album NCT #127 Neo Zone and its title track “Kick It” on March.

In addition, EXO’s Baekhyun, Wanna One’s Ha Sungwoon and Park Jihoon, and X1’s Kim Woo Seok have announced their comeback, heralding a fierce competition among male solo musicians as well.

Source (1, 2, 3)

Leave your vote

184 Points
Related Posts

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.