How Did the 57th Baeksang Arts Awards Select the Winners?

As always, this year’s competition was fierce. Candidates were selected through multiple rounds of screening and the juries tried to be fairer than ever.

– Film �

Credit: Baeksang Art Awards

Yoo Ah In (Voice of Silence) and Jeon Jong Seo (Call) are selected for the Best Actor and Best Actress Awards from an overwhelming majority. The committee unanimously decided Jeon Jong Seo without further discussion, who presented a new character for a female villain. On the other hand, Yoo Ah In won the prize by receiving one more vote than Byun Yo Han(The Book of Fish). The judges said, ” Yoo Ah In is brave and fearless to change his image. He is quick to adapt to new characters.”


Credit: Baeksang Art Awards

Yoo Jae Seok and Beyond Evil were the final candidates. As a result, Yoo Jae Seok received six votes and won the grand prize. Kim Kyo Seok, a columnist, said, “He has led much long-running variety shows successfully such as Running Man and showed trendy approach with Hangout with Yoo. Moreover, he made an excellent engagement with the public in Yoo Quiz on the Block.”

The Best Male Entertainer award was a battle between Lee Seung Gi and Moon Se Yoon. Critic Jung Deok Hyun said, “While acting, Lee Seung Gi led to the success of Master in the House, Busted!, Together, and Sing Again. And as a show host of Sing Again, he was so stable and professional that he could be comparable to other hosts who have been on shows for a much longer time.” As a result of the screening, Lee Seung Gi won the award by receiving four votes for the Best Male Entertainer award.

Credit: Baeksang Art Awards

Shin Ha Kyun (Beyond Evil), Lee Joon Ki (flower of evil), and Kim Soo Hyun (It’s Okay to Not Be Okay) competed for the Best Actor award. As a result of the second round of the screening, Shin Ha Kyun received five votes. Lee Joon Ki and Kim Soo Hyun received one each. Critic Jung Deok Hyun shared, “Shin Ha Kyun’s acting was awe-inspiring. He had such great intensity and immersion in the character.”

Kim So Yeon (Penthouse) and Shin Hye Sun (Mr. Queen) competed for the Best Actress award. From the first round of voting, the response was a tie. There was a tight match in the second round of voting as well. As a result of the final screening, Kim So Yeon led the vote by 5-2 to win the trophy.

This year, what took the longest time to evaluate was the Best Supporting Actor award. Five candidates were selected after nearly an hour of screening from the first round. Also, the second screening took as much time. As a result of the last screening, Oh Jung Se (It’s Okay to Not Be Okay) won the award with four votes, while Choi Dae Hoon (Beyond Evil) won two and Lee Hee Joon (Mouse) won one vote.

Credit: Baeksang Art Awards

The Best New Actor Award was very competitive as well. There were various opinions from the first screening. But in the second screening, every candidate received one vote each, and Lee Do Hyun (18 Again) won the trophy with three votes. In the meantime, the Best New Actress Award was a competition between Park Joo Hyun (Extracurricular) and Choi Sung Eun (Beyond Evil). As a result of the second round of evaluation, Park Joo Hyun won four votes.


Source (1, 2)

Translator Kim Y.U: Welcome K-pop, K-drama, K-movie, K-culture fans. I hope you enjoy our news about K-entertainment.

Leave your vote

Related Posts

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.